Return to the North

By Viking

The Larnachs

I stayed an extra night in Dunedin so I could do a bit of exploring. I had only ever really driven through the city before with the off hour or two stop over. I still really didn't have as much time as I wanted so I had to make a decision.

My decision to visit Larnach Castle was based On my having read the book ' The Larnachs' by Owen Marshall. An enjoyable novel based on the lives of the Larnachs. William Larnach married his third wife Constance - who was a wee bit younger than him. Some years into the marriage it is likely she began an affair with Williams son to his first wife. Her and Dougie were closer in age and interest.

A fascinating read and a fascinating place to visit. The weather was dreadful and there was no view of The peninsula at all on the way up. It didn't make for much of a shot either but here is Larnach Castle - the only castle in NZ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.