City Boy

By kwasi

And it's Goodbye for now

I've been on a macro run for a few days. It has to be the same today for we're leaving for a week's holiday on Easdale Island and I have no time to go out and find a blip.

Easdale is a tiny island south of Oban and was the place where slate was quarried until the early 20th century. At its peak there were 500 permanent residents. It eventually fell to 5 and is now back up to 65. The houses have been modernised and many are owned by the descendants of the original inhabitants. My wife's grandfather was born in 1 Eadale Island in 1880. He moved to Glasgow as a young man but his father lived his entire life there from 1834 until 1921. We don't own the house now and we're renting another cottage. Unfortunately the house has no WiFi and I know that reception for my mobile is very poor, so I wont be commenting or blipping for around a week.

The shot is of the blossom on one of our two Victoria Plum trees. The larger tree is particularly heavy with blossom and I can only hope that the bees have been busy or there will be some disappointed people in September.

Probably better in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.