wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Busy but satisfying

Its been a day full of kitchens, dirty dishes and good food, with a session at the cinema to finish up. I was recruited to help serve and clean up for a conference at church, which took most of my day. It was great though, I got to catch up with a few people I haven't seen for a while, and enjoy a delicious lunch of paella.

This evening a few of us went to see The Grand Budapest Hotel. It was wonderful. On reflection it was not a happy story, but it was such a story, told in fabulous storyteller's detail with hidden flourishes and little rewards. By five minutes in I was wishing it was over, so I could watch it all again. I could watch it for the sets, another time for the music, again for the script and once more for the story. There was simply too much for one viewing. It made me laugh, it made me wince, it made me sombre. All round excellent.

By the time I got home I couldn't bring myself to watch anything on tv, or even really get into my book (The Phantom of the Opera, I never knew it was a book!). So I sat and watched the gas fire for a little while.

An all round satisfying day. Thanks God for Saturdays like this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.