Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Meet Neil.....

The "Veggie Man"!! I had a quick trip to the Growers Market in Blackheath this morning to stock up on seedlings for our very sad veggie patch. A resident wombat has found its way through the cyclone fence (erected at great expense) and demolished the veggies. He's done me a favour really because it was in desperate need of an overhaul after the long weeks away.

Neil is a regular at the markets and always has the most wonderfully fresh and vibrant vegetables for sale. The great thing is you don't have to buy a whole punnet of one variety. You get an empty punnet or two or three and fill them with as many of each variety that you may want. We've always had a lot of success with Neil's seedlings so I've got my fingers crossed with todays lot! I have blipped another image of the seedlings on display, almost picked this one as the Blip but I had already promised Neil he would be featuring on the world wide web by mid-afternoon!!

I think I might stage a vigil one night - rug up and sit outside in a hidey hole and wait for the very cheeky wombat to make an appearance. Perhaps we could negotiate a truce. If I can manage it, I will do an army manoeuvre and clamber under the deck and try and take a photo of the freshly dug wombat hole. Dining out on our veggies is one thing but taking up residence puts a whole new twist on things! When I told Neil about my Wombat he had very little sympathy for me. What do you expect when you call your property "Wombat Hollow", you've just issued an open invitation. Thanks a lot for your support Neil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.