Patio Narcissi on Marathon Sunday

My patio narcissi will have to have take centre stage today: I am exhausted and drained and have no energy to pursue a blip outside in the wind and rain.

Having run the London Marathon 3 times in the past, today I am more than happy to be an armchair runner.
I have been sitting in front of the television since the first strains of the Marathon tune gave me the usual goosebumps and I took up my position at the Green Start for the older runners.

Even though I am competing virtually with the fun runners, I'm tired and I've yet to go through Docklands  and what I remember as being a wasteland of high office blocks with few spectators and the hope not to be passed by a Womble or a rhino as has happened in real time -demoralising I can tell you.

But lo and behold, I am suddenly in Bird Cage Walk and  there's not long to go now, just round a few corners and the Mall stretching out with that wonderful finishing line in my sights.
Wonderful, mission completed and I can relax and sit back in my chair now with a revitalising drink.

The best news is that I can still walk normally and will not have to descend any stairs backwards tomorrow.
Ain't life great competing from an armchair!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.