Golden temple again...

A day spent wandering the old town and bazaars of amritsar, thunderstorms last night so no sunrise to see, tomorrow maybe...the old town is fantastic, crumbling beauty and deliciously kindly people. Most wonderfully Jens was given a gift of a piece of star ruby by a diamond dealer who's shop was the size of a cupboard in a side street. I almost bought a flawed sapphire which was capable of an incredibly intense blue when light hit a a certain angle. I resisted:-)

A morning of photo's asked for by locals, when hone will make a folder of these, there are many. And then I found myself in a Durga temple, the durgiana, imitation of the golden temple but with a completely different vibe. It's the mad Hindu thing, almost as if the "perfection" of the golden temple could only be bettered by a "flawed" variation on the theme. Needless to say I loved it, sat fir hours listening, talking, dreaming. A city of special quietude in the midst of utter chaos. I really like amritsar, definitely one of my favourite Indian cities.

And then it got silly....again....I git my dates wrong for my flight...thought Thursday, wrong, Friday...and have ticket Delhi-Mumbai train on wed...but no ticket to Delhi yet...another early morning at the train station in hope of taktal...but also possible direct train...36 hours...on Tuesday night, arr Thursday morning...hmm..but no need to spend a day in Mumbai and an extra day here...we shall see...Pretty typical of me I fear...zen travelling, not always pretty and rarely reaches the point of joined up thinking....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.