Sight Seen

By Microfoam

Patient Zero

It would be nice to have a concrete beginning point for everything I've done. Some specific event that I could cite as being the point at which some spiral of events began. But instead, I am choosing an idea. I began reading the blog of Evan and Ali Dohrmann (http://blog.littleredbikecafe.com/), the owners of the lovely, one-of-a-kind breakfast and lunch café by the name of the Little Red Bike as soon as they began writing it. I had met them earlier in the year as they were selling amazing prepared food at farmer's market while I sold produce at the same market for a farmer who lived near where I had grown up. Slowly but surely I was awakened to the heights of good food and good food photography. I rabidly checked the blog for new photos and their accompanying stories. Eventually I was gifted a quality superzoom style digital camera and began trying to document what I was eating and generally try to accomplish visually what Ali had been doing for some time with her food and her camera. Gradually my idea of what looks good and perhaps more who can make food look great has evolved, bringing me to this photo. It was taken at Ten 01, at one time one of the better restaurants in town, but certainly it's been one of the better bars in town for a proper cocktail since I can remember. Kelly, the spirits director and all-around nice guy, told me that he'd give me the rink pictured here if I indeed took some photos of said drink. Naturally, I agreed. And I finally have my first blipfoto entry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.