Sight Seen

By Microfoam

Springtime of my life.

Thankfully it's only been 107 days since my last blip. In that time, many photos have been taken and cameras have been acquired. Specifically, a Canon A1, meaning I've been doing my best to take a number of film photographs. I also recently discovered the beauty of Hoyt Arboretum, home to over 1000 species of trees and plants and generally a mecca for delicious photographs. I've been going up on almost every sunny day, which is more rare this time of year in Oregon than is ideal. The first time I went I had a roll of Fuji's Pro 400H in my camera, and loaded it so improperly that the roll never advanced and I took 36 ghost photos instead of actually making any one real photo. So my motivation for returning has been somewhat motivated by my desire to reclaim what I failed to capture the first time. I've also been attending weekly business classes through Mercy Corps to start on the road to becoming a professional photographer. Which is to say that I want to be paid occasionally to take photographs. I enjoy it so much that I just know that making money at it wouldn't ruin it for me. I hope to not become flippant about my passion, but pursuing this seems extremely logical. It doesn't hurt that Mercy Corps has a matched savings account that will allow me to invest in a better camera and a few good lenses to help jump-start my adventure. But in the meantime, I practice and learn. And blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.