creative lenna

By creativelenna

Mono Monday: METAL

When at my mom's last week helping her to set up a tablet, I saw this parrot on a shelf of the desk where I was working. It was interesting and I was curious, so I picked it up. I asked my mom what it was . . . "oh, it's been here forever. It was your dad's." I asked her what it was and she said that it was something to hold postage stamps . . . (The parrot's head lifts up and there is a compartment). Then she said, "You can have it if you want . . ." -music to my ears, I was so delighted!! Now it's here on my desk at my house, the desk my father made in 'Shop' when he was in High School! It has been my desk since I was a little girl. My dad passed away in 2011 and even though I still feel his presence with me, I do miss him sometimes. This gift my mother gave to me was really special, a connection in many ways I am so grateful for.

The bird is made of some kind of metal (? don't know what kind) and used to be painted red and yellow (at least) but now there are just faint reminders of that paint in a few places. I put the bird on two old calendar pages my dad had hung in our house, from 1969 and 1970! I rescued them at some point and use them in my art these days . . . the illustrations are quite beautiful.

This is for Mono Monday hosted by TywynSue. (ffredsmum). This week's theme is Metal! Thanks for hosting Sue, much appreciated. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.