creative lenna

By creativelenna

Lunar eclipse over the Braden River, Florida

My set up did NOT look like this (see the 2nd picture). Instead I handheld my Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V with my elbows resting on top of a wooden screen for the hot tub, it's just the right height! Having that flat wooden shelf to steady my arms on makes a huge difference. Although, this photo is not one of the clearest photos of the moon I've been lucky to capture recently, my blip from October or this one from November are certainly more striking. But this one is more special!! View large . . .

I don't think I ever seen a lunar eclipse before. According to Wiki, It occurs when the Moon passes directly behind the Earth into its umbra (shadow). This can occur only when the Sun, Earth, and Moon are aligned (in "syzygy") exactly, or very closely so, with the Earth in the middle.

I learned from reading and watching videos that as you "watch the earth's shadow sweeping across the moon" . . . you'll see the reddish color on the moon -- this is the color of all of the sunsets from the earth lighting up the moon!! I also learned that the brightest and closest planet to the moon that I saw (it's in this photo -blue) is Mars. This is the closest Mars has been to the Earth in 6 years. This occurrence April 15 is one of four Lunar eclipses that will happen during the next 18 months - a tetrad of eclipses. A M A Z I N G!

Steven and I set our alarm for 3:00 am so we could experience this. Since I went to bed at midnight (typical for me) I was kind of sleepy, but we managed with clothes and camera set out and waiting. We crept outside while the dogs still slept and looked in amazement over the river . . . there it was!
There are a few other views taken at 3 am -here if you like :)

wishing you many moon and star filled nights . . . . with love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.