Tokyo - Day 2

Today started off rather leisurely, as we were pretty tired after a long day yesterday.

Headed out to Meiji Shrine, as recommended by Martin's colleagues, and so glad they suggested it. We had a wonderful time exploring the gardens and tranquility of the place in the heart of Tokyo. You wouldn't think you were in a city of about 13million! The beauty of fresh green leaves against the sun was breathtaking and the pollution free air was making us giddy!

We took LOADS of pics and I was struggling to find which one to blip, but in the end, of course, I've settled for a pink flower/flowers. We have missed the cherry blossom season in Tokyo, but these azaleas were blooming beautifully and I was enjoying snapping away. We walked through a tree tunnel of pink azaleas ... heaven!

We then walked all the way down Omote Sando to Nezu Museum, which was sadly closed :( On the way, we browsed in and out of shops and Martin even bought me some pressies for my birthday tomorrow, so I'd have something to open! What a sweetie. Perhaps Thursday or Friday morning we can head out there to Nezu Museum again.

So instead of Nezu Museum, we thought we'd walk around the Roppongi area, which Martin wanted to do. Had a wonder around and thoroughly enjoyed people watching over coffee and later dinner too. Japanese fashion is FASCINATING and I think the most popular accessory here is a mac! So glad I brought mine.

Headed back to the hotel and we're trying to have an early night because we need to be up at the crack of dawn to head out to Hakone so we can get views of Mt Fuji and also enjoy the beauty up in the mountains. If we're lucky we might see some blossoms. Keeping my fingers crossed. Lovely day in Tokyo and feel like I've gotten a feel for this city already. So grateful for every opportunity to something new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.