Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Easter Bunnies

I went to the Pavilion in Priory Park today to photograph some paintings of the Priory for the 'Art in the Park' web page I'm working on. The weather was wonderful, and I have never seen more people enjoying the park, except perhaps when there is a special event on. The Pavilion was full of children obviously enjoying one of the many Easter Holiday activities - which meant my original plan had to be abandoned. The organisers were doing a wonderful job in running such a popular event - in fact they were expecting to have to run it a second (unplanned) time later in the day as it was very over-subscribed! The theme was 'Easter bunny crafts' - not what I had intended to photograph, but as I already planned to include a section in the new web page on recent art and craft activities for the local community, it fitted in well with that.

I could probably have got this shot with the iPhone, but I had a 'real' camera with me, and so I used that. I really wanted it to represent activity and involvement of the community and the kids, so I did not want to move everything outside on the grass to produce a 'better' composition, or move the bunnies. The glue gun in the background was included deliberately - why was it needed? To attach the tails to the bunnies, although as they are all facing the camera, you can't see the tails!

A lot of effort has gone into improving Priory Park; we are immensely grateful to The Heritage Lottery Fund for providing the money, and it is so rewarding to see the results on a day like today.

Oh, and I got a chance to try the new lens that arrived a little bit earlier in the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.