Murat to Millau...

I think we may have nailed this support lark you know! This morning we were breakfasted and out pretty much right after the boys. We stopped at the supermarket in Murat for some provisions, fresh bread and some new tart. We hung out with the donkeys while we waited for it to open and managed to get on the road pretty sharpish after them.

The route today took us through St Flour which was quite a sweet little place as we passed, there were certainly more people around which made a nice change. We caught up with the professionals at the Viaduct de Garabit which I’m sure was pretty spectacular in its time but now looks a bit weary with no water and a lot of rubble.

The lunchtime stop was a bit of a trauma that we’ll skip over in the name of short tempers and steep hills in Aumort-Aubrac but I managed to pick up some postcard, which I’ve still not had time to write – can I use French stamps in Spain?! We were attempting to get through the Massif Central, it’s really pretty countryside and I’ve decided that I love France. The French people have been nothing but helpful and our shit French has got us through the days, I think they’re happy to help if you make an attempt to speak their language. We do, badly, but we’ve managed so far (I think I may have said this already but I can’t be arsed to check).

The afternoon stop today was in a gorgeous little village called La Canourgue and we sat by the river, dangling my feet in and started to write my cards. I got one done but it’s still in the bag. The half hour we had, sitting in the sun, saw my white legs get a little colour and gave us the first 30 minutes of ‘me’ time we’ve had since London. The days have been long and I was pretty ready for an early night.

We fed them tart then went on our way to Millau. I was excited to see the bridge and it really didn’t disappoint. It’s a spectacular piece of engineering and it’s absolutely huge. The shadow it casts across the valley is quite something. We figured we had enough time to horse it into the visitor centre, race up the hill and take some photos before we had to make it to the hotel and sort out the trailer and the ice baths. We’ve got quite slick with the recovery drinks, usually making them at the last stop so that we can concentrate on getting the bags out and the baths run. It cost us 20 euros to drive over the bridge (twice) but it was worth it although this trip has made it very clear that I’m not very good at heights or cliffs, especially sitting on the wrong side in the car and on the wrong side of the road. I hope my Dad brings his driving gloves!!

We were staying at the Campanile in Millau so when we arrived we unloaded, sorted the baths and booked an early dinner for us. It’s been 9pm before we’re eating most nights so I figured we’d just eat early and let the boys join us when they were all sorted. I had a stack of washing to do and I think the girl on reception just felt sorry for me after dinner when I turned up with my rubber gloves asking on the off chance there was a washing machine I could use. Alas not but I think she saw how knackered I was she said she’d stick it in their machine on the quiet. Ary went to collect it an hour later and not only was it washed, but it was dry too! Awesome! Although if I’d known that, I’d have stuck all my washing in there too!! Fail!

And so to bed… tired but over the moon to have a duvet! Hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.