Watching...

We're currently all sitting round watching Max with his endless energy being fairly determined not to sleep. It's six minutes to midnight!

How he's not sleeping on his feet I've no idea. This morning I was awake at half five thanks to my beautiful cat thinking it was definitely time for a mad half hour. I dozed on and off after that but eventually gave up and got out of bed at half seven. We pottered on downstairs and I figured I'd get on with melting chocolate for the millionaires shortbread that I made last night. I'm not convinced that I got the shortbread part right so it's definitely one that I'm going to try again at home. It is lovely baking in a big kitchen even if it was at ridiculous o'clock.

Meanwhile Pepsi is lying flat out under the table beside us. I think maybe it just took a little time for her to settle which is fine. Her social skills today have rid me of the thoughts that I'd made a mistake bringing her with me. She's an absolute star and whilst she's not rushing to rub round Max's legs, she's not legging it either. She's been hanging round downstairs when we're here, coming when she's called and even popped in when Gem and her Mum came for a visit tonight. That's a win. 

This morning we went down to the Emma Bridgewater factory shop. I love the shape of the mugs but I don't really want the spotty pattern so I bought myself a nice seconds mug (= much cheaper!) that has stars on it. After that we wandered into town for some bits and bobs and tonight we went swimming. 

I'd forgotten how much I love to swim. It's clear there is still a problem with my shoulder but I think swimming might help with that. That is after I'd literally poured myself into my swimming costume... it's definitely long overdue. It was nice to go though... it's on the way to getting me over my mental block. I would like a swim membership somewhere. I don't want to join a gym because I hate the gym but I'd like to use a pool that doesn't belong to the Council*. The private health clubs are missing out because I'm pretty sure I'm not alone and other people would use a swim membership too.   


*This is purely because the times are all wrong for me rather than me being a total snob (although I'd be lying if I said that private pools weren't altogether nicer). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.