Living Room

One Rainy Wish

Turn up to ELEVEN at 1 minute 13 seconds.

This was the tune that got me into Hendrix.

I was thinking about someone lovely in my life today, a smile spread across my face and these lyrics played through my mind...

I have never
Laid eyes on you
Not before
This timeless day
But you woke
Smiled my name
And stole
My heart away


In other news, the fact that lassies eating food on public transport became an actual 'thing' quite surprised me. I also didn't initially see the issue. But, someone mechanical-kickstart-bumholed my mind and I actually thought about it. And, when I did that; this fell out of my head...

What I think is wrong with this and why we should all actually give a fuck and support the cause against this is as follows...

Firstly, I want to state that initially I thought (as many others do) that this was just a massive waste of time and a waste of thought.

But 'thought' is the key here.

I think this whole thing speaks volumes for our society as a whole; how women view themselves, how men view women and how women view other women.

It's easy to state that folk should harden the fuck up. I've often stated as such. And, you can also state that individuals pile pressure onto themselves and we should take responsibility for our own actions. But it's not about personal responsibility, it's about how insidious every day sexism is.

This blog claims to be high art. And that was my initial gut reaction when I saw the first two or three pics because they were actually composed really well and looked like an interesting snapshot of life. But as I looked through, it became more and more seedy (and I'm not just talking sesame seeds on buns here).

What we're looking in at, what we're voyeurs of, is something that has massive psychological connotations and is an extremely sensitive subject and also a major factor in the way women judge themselves and the way we, as a society, judge women.

The crux of this issue and why we should all have a problem with this, in my opinion, is guilt. What this blog does is further heap shame on women for having the audacity to eat.

No one would give a fuck if it were Men Eating on Tubes, you say. Of course. And no one would have even heard of the blog, because the titillation factor would not be there. The sexualisation of the eating process of item-entering-orifice would not be there. Women would not be involved, our passive sex objects, not integral therefore Interest Factor = Zero. Except for perhaps high art (I hate that term, fyi, used purely mockingly) appreciating fuds such as myself.

This blog is wrong but it's very subtly wrong and that's why I used the word insidious. I am not, never have been and never will be a chauvinist (certainly not intentionally!) but even I, who questions myself & life constantly, breezed past this as just some shite some fanny was doing that really didn't matter. Get over yourself, eh?

It does matter. It matters because all of our daughters are affected, all of our sisters, mothers, girlfriends, wives, the women in our lives are affected by this creepingly creepy sexism that we don't even realise is skulking about in the background, belittling, controlling, shaping minds, spoiling lives.

We judge women on their body shape then add further insult to injury by mocking them for eating, you know, that thing you actually have to do to survive?

This is a wider issue, it's not even really so much about the ridicule. It's about the society that we live in that facilitates that ridicule and even makes a mundane blog like this a 'thing'.

We are all human beings, we should not be being cunts to one another.


Here is the offending website:

Women Who Eat On Tubes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.