Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Parallel Universe

Today, I got picked up from work by G and we set off to one of the industrial areas to get the aerial of my Volvo fixed. Since its last visit to the garage, I noticed that it doesn't retract when the car is switched off. This of course is unacceptable as my car has to run as it was designed to!

I had already been in touch with my "car stereo man" (Rizwan) and found out where his new shop is. Got there no problem but WOW I couldn't believe the area. Sometimes you really do wonder about Dubai. Somewhere near the Auto Market/Used Car Showroom, he is in a still-developing "Industrial" area. PLEASE go large to see it. Rizwan's company enhances new cars for the Iranian and ex-CIS states market. Basically, a new car is purchased and then the owner spends THOUSANDS customising it! One man (Congolese) had his brand new silver 4x4 painted red and the entire inside (seats/panelling, carpets) turned from saffron to red (because his wife didn't like the original colour), plus DVD player and tv screens and GPS installed at a cost of £16,000!!! Crazy.

My aerial was just a small job then - but as it is so old, the mechanic tried to repair it first; then had to replace it with the newer aerials out now. It took three and a half hours! G & I sat and chatted with Rizwan who was really happy to see us as returning customers - and as we discovered, is really clued up on international relations/politics and is a very deep thinker! HOW COOL!

It is late again so I have to say good night! We were going to go to Muscat over the weekend but postponed that to May and I am feeling really relieved! :)

Oh my blip: Top left: The road we found ourselves on; Top right: Trailers stacked for ??? Bottom left: A brand new car having new tyres put on. Bottom right: My car having its aerial fixed.

G has a much more philosophical entry.

Edit: It was so late last night - I wanted to mention the Blood Moon which over here was absolutely white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.