my life is a fiesta

By fiestadecox

First Flight

So. When I quit my job at Baylor to go back to school I had a great surprise waiting for me. A big, fat check for all my vacation pay I never used. Because I only worked 4 days a week, I could always schedule them around days I needed off. I had the flexibility of the days off, without actually taking the days off.

We had this *inkling* that couple time was about to take a nosedive (it did) and we wanted to use the cash to go to Mejico. Una problema. It wasn't enough for Mexico. So went to Vegas instead. Five days in Vegas at the Bellagio was cheaper than a Mexico trip at the time. So we bought books and magazines, hung out by the pool all day, visited the museum each evening (Guggenheim Hermitage, Ansel Adams, Antique Cars, etc), and pretended we were in Mexico. It wasn't such a stretch as it was 106-110 degrees each day we were there.

Three amazing things about that trip.
1. It was our first vacation. It was like a honeymoon, only 3 years later.
2. It was my guy's first flight. He was giddy. 4 years later he still insists on the aisle seat. ;)
3. We were there for 5 days and only spent $175. Food, Gambling, everything. $175. Makes me rethink the way we spend on our vacations now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.