International Space Station transit

I had intended to go out and try and shoot some stars this evening after seeing the forecast for clear skies, so I headed out to Peckleton just before sunset. Before I set off I had seen a really cool blip of the International Space Station on Delph Wynd Daily's page and I decided to look up to see when the next transit would be. I was in luck it was due at about 21:10 this evening.

After the sunset and an amazing moonrise with a blood coloured moon I got myself all set up ready for the ISS to transit. I knew which direction it should be coming from (west to east) however it rose behind me, so I didn't get the shot that I wanted of the the ISS passing over the church and my favourite tree (I would have needed to have been at the other end of the field looking the opposite way), so I quickly repositioned myself to get at least something of the ISS. This is a 2 30 second exposures blended together.

The stars were still coming out, but it is a 'school' night and the cloud was blowing in so I've decided to come home and share the ISS with you.

I have put a couple of the sunset and moonrise pics on the Blippers Community Overspill flickr page

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.