Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Mum's Veggie Patch

The number 365 days has a very different meaning for me today as a Blipper. It's a year today that my beautiful 90 year old Mum passed away. My Mum was "Simply the Best" and this year has been a really tough one in many ways. I don't think anything can prepare you for a loss such as this. I decided that I would do something positive today and what better to do than to get my hands into the soil and resurrect my veggie patch. I had planned this for a few days and had stocked up with a lovely lot of seedlings and plants from the Growers Market in Blackheath on Sunday.

I know Mum would be very happy about this project because I've never known anyone more passionate about healthy eating than Mum. I always proudly tell people that I think Mum was the first person in WA to buy a juice extractor. I can remember many days before school standing at the kitchen bench helping Mum put through the Apples Carrots and Celery for our healthy fruit juice that would get us off to a great start to the day.

My two brothers and I were blessed with the most wonderful parents and were so lucky to have them in our lives for so long. Some time ago I added an image to my Blipfolio of Mum and I at Augusta. We were staying in my younger brother and sister-in-laws holiday house and it was to be Mum's last visit to her beloved Augusta. This is a happy image, we're both delighted to be tackling a wonderful feed of fresh crab and prawns, something that Mum was also passionate about.

Thanks to lots of encouragement from my Big Brother Blipper - Allan46 I started blipping in earnest towards the end of last year. It has been such a great thing for me to be part of and over the past few months I feel I have really connected with many of you. You wouldn't have realised how much your comments meant at the time probably, but I just want to say thank you they have helped me a lot.

By the way, CCN and I decided on a strategy late this afternoon. We have enlisted the help of our resident (friendly) Wombat, one we can rely on not to get into the veggie patch. We're hoping he will keep our very hungry live Wombat at bay. I was going to put a before photo of the veggie patch on my Blipfolio but really it was too sad on a day when I should be celebrating the life of my wonderful mother. Let's just look forward to lots of lovely produce over the next few months - Mum would love it.

PS - I really think you need to view the large version of the image - the veggies are very small at this stage!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.