Preparing for a Deluge

“I think I had better come around and clear out the gutters” said Ken. “There is a lot of rain coming.” So Ken, who helps us in our garden, came around this afternoon and spent time clearing out crucial sections of guttering on our roof. They had become clogged up with leaf litter and copper beech nuts from nearby trees. If they had not been attended to at this point in time we may well have rain water overflowing the guttering.
The met service site on the internet that we keep an eye on is predicting heavy rain from tonight and nearly 60 mm to fall in Blenheim tomorrow. That is a lot of rain, when Blenheim is traditionally in a low rainfall area.
Anyway our spouting and gutters are clear now so we are ready for any downpours.
I love to hear the rain on the roof. We had a corrugated iron roof on the house that I grew up in. It felt wonderfully cosy to lie in bed at night and hear the rain drumming on the roof. Our house in Blenheim has heavy concrete tiles on the roof. These tiles muffle the sound of rain. I have to open the bedroom window if I want to hear the patter of raindrops. Then I can hear it drumming on the roof of the garden shed. Small pleasures…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.