Bug life in the undergrowth

It has been another beautifully sunny day and I managed to have lunch in the garden, sitting on the patio with my shirt off. I even had to water the garden pot as many were very nearly parched.

I watched insects flying about and a few birds topping up their food intake. I tried to follow some little butterflies with my camera but they were very twitchy and I couldn't get near them. I slowed down enough to observe some unusual bugs including one which looks like a large fly but has two antenna that are each more than an inch long. There were several flying together and they looked like they were partaking in an aerial dance, but I couldn't follow them.

The wisteria buds are about to fully open and the clematis montana has a couple of flowers open. I will wait and blip them shortly when they are in their prime. Dandelions however are in their prime for only a very short time as their seeds set so quickly. This little flying insect was in bliss, nuzzling into the heart of many of the dandelion flowers, which are far too prevalent for my liking. It is blissfully unaware that he had been blipped as well. Sadly the dandelion was already spreading its seeds on the wind,before I could cut them down, or better still pull the whole plant up. I do like them, but they are so annoying!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.