hpx

By hpx

Dusk

I'm not long home and quickly grabbed this down the road. I had another shot from inside St Lukes but decided to go for this one.

I've been freezing my little white legs off on the lawn outside of St Luke's in the City for the last couple of hours or so. Today is the annual 'International Day to End Violence Against Sex Workers'. Each year St Luke's welcomes the Prostitutes Collective as they hold a BBQ on the lawn and use their facilities.

I often pass street workers and sometimes chat with them. It's not for me to judge or condemn. They have enough of that already. Over the years this day is something I've chosen to make a stand on. I know enough of life to understand it is seldom black and white.

I've met some truly gentle and gracious woman. Woman who many would see as worthless and the dregs of society, heard stories that break your heart and seen real joy and camaraderie.

It's not a life I know but it could be me. It could be my sister, a niece or my daughter. In a world full of violence - often perpetuated against women and children this is but one tiny step.

But by the grace of God go I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.