eyesee

By davidc

St Andrew's Church, Corbridge, Northumberland

We had a walk today from Corbridge to Aydon Castle and back - not too energetic and plenty of photo opportunities. I expected to get my blip at the castle, but I was actually happier with my picture in the church.

Apparently the first church on the site was probably built around 674 AD by St Wilfrid's artisans and monks using stone from the ruins of the nearby Roman fort (Corstopitum) . In fact the round archway you can see at the back is indeed Roman, having been moved from Corstopitum.

Getting the picture right was tricky in view of the challenging light - and the fact that I did not have my tripod with me, effectively ruling out any form of multi-exposure HDR processing. Fortunately I managed to get a compromise exposure which included detail in the stained glass as well as in the stonework, and then in Photoshop I used adjustment layers with appropriate masking to tweak the brightness of these parts independently.

(The two tourists in the shot are 2 of my grown-up sons who were with us today.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.