carliewired

By carliewired

Wednesday in Salmon Arm

A setback for the
weather again today, as
it tried to rain often.

~ carliewired

This was another painting session in Salmon Arm today. It was not the greatest weather. Rain threatened most of the day. Skies were gray and overcast. Temperatures are still a bit chilly.

I took a photo across Shuswap lake to Canoe Point when I stopped at a pullout to answer my cell phone. The gray day did not allow the colours of spring to shine through.

I worked on a landscape today. I have some photos I've taken in Kamloops. I used one of a sunset over the Thompson River as my reference. Not so sure it's done. I'll let it stew for a while. Working with acrylics allows me to go back later and make changes if I wish.

When I finished with the painting group at 4 PM, I drove down close to Shuswap Lake where it meets the city of Salmon Arm. There is a great walkway provided that takes one alongside the marshlands. The area had a lot of last year's vegetation that has been dried over the many months. It looks pretty. The horsetails are emerging.

The most interesting thing I noticed was the lone Canada goose atop the osprey's perch. It is some 20 feet above the marshland on a slender pole. Last year I watched a pair of osprey nesting there. For some strange reason the Canada goose has claimed it. I can't imagine how it might rear its young in this location.

I had to treat myself to some flowers at the grocery store on the way home. One can never have too many tulips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.