Igor

By Igor

Shakespeare Challenge: too much of a good thing?

As well as Rosalind in As You Like It Act 4, scene 1, 115–124, I came across the following:

‘too much of a good thing’; a song by Alan Jackson

“too much of a good thing can be wonderful” ; Mae West

“The mother of excess is not joy but joylessness.” ;Friedrich Nietzsche. You can always rely on Nietzsche to spoil the party.

I’m still playing with software and effects and can’t always decide if it’s a bit too much. Like today’s effort; the first apple blossom this year. The sun was shining and the contrast was way too high to show the subtleties of the colours. So I fall back on software to try something different. I love this effect, but I’ve used it a lot lately. I’m wondering if I’ve used it too much.

Anniemay and I are thinking of joining a camera club. We went to a camera club fair the other day and made our way round the tables, interviewing representatives of the various organisations. A bit like speed dating. I imagine.

The first was not a club, but a ‘photographic society’. The man smiled as we approached;

me: “I like playing with effects and having fun”. His expression changed. ‘And I don’t shoot RAW…”

Before I could add “yet” he put his fist in his mouth and made a sort of mewing sound. (This I promise is true). We only got away after sitting through a 10’ demo on why Jpegs are rubbish. Anniemay came away suitably chastened and is now shooting RAW+Jpeg. I’m not though: “Power to the people”


“how much is too much?” he had wondered
as his mouse hovered over the curve
“you wouldn’t,” she said, “you would never
you simply do not have the nerve”

“you cannot submit this”, she cried out
“ think of our social position.
What if they said it was rubbish?”
at the great camera club inquisition

but his mind it was made up and steadfast
“I don’t care if I make a big stink
I’m an artist and that gives me license (Scribbler said so)
so I don’t give a toss what they think”

his picture it caused quite an outcry
his critics they mocked him with glee
a prize of its own seemed the right way;
“for best under-5 chimpanzee”

but in time he became a true artist
and opened his own gallery
humans, he made pay top dollar
but monkeys and apes got in free

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.