Red campion

I've taken the day of work today. Yippee! I have to stay at home for Royal Mail to deliver a small parcel they couldn't deliver earlier this week, so no bike rides for me until they turn up...

Today's blip is a shot of red campion (Silene dioica, syn. Melandrium rubrum). It's growing in the wildflower turf lawn we laid over the winter (in the pouring rain). It's the first of the flowers that are part of the mix to come into bloom. There are about a dozen campions that are in full bloom and an awful lot more that are about to open. I can't wait for the rest of the lawn to burst into bloom!

Part of the reason for planting the wild flower lawn was low maintenance - it should only need strimming & mowing once at the end of the season, which I think is a win. It should be insect friendly and drought tolerant too which seems a good idea too.

While I'm waiting for the postie I've been working on my new web server. I'm switching from one virtual machine to a slightly more powerful one which costs less money at the same hosting firm. They are nice bunch of geeks, though they are based in the wrong county - I suppose no one is perfect...! (I leave that as an exercise to the reader to identify...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.