WorldLens

By worldlens

Happy Thai New Year

Many people were still out to celebrate on the last day of the Thai New Year. This is just one of the many streets where people gathered for the water fight. All of the neon colored spots are water guns ready for battle.

Different locations have a different type of fight. Along this road, you can buy powder, which when mixed with water becomes paste. Part of the celebration is to smear this powder paste on everyone's face. I think it started as a blessing sort of thing in the Buddhist temples, and then it grew into the culture of the New Year's water fight.

I only had my squirt gun, so when I was pasted, I usually took the liberty of dipping my fingers in the other person's paste and smearing it on their face too. While some people were surprised, I considered it part of the friendly counter attack, and then we both started laughing. By the end of the street we were not only wet, but also covered in paste.

Another development of the water fight is the use of ice-cold water. You usually have to buy it for a few cents, but many people were willing to pay the price. Getting a bucket of cold water tossed on you or sprayed from a water gun to your back feels good on a hot day but also gets your attention. However, from experience I've learned it's better to not react, otherwise the water keeps coming. :)

My favorite water fight spot is a few blocks away from the paste and cold water. The space of about a tennis court is blocked off and foam machines line the edges. The center becomes a foam pit. The foam is like small bath bubbles that don't easily pop. You can build a hat on your friend's head with them or get completely lost under them if you sit down. A friend who came with me is a bit short and at one point she disappeared, turning into a foamwoman. She made me laugh so hard that I inhaled some foam.

Overall, it was a very memorable Thai New Year. If you ever have the opportunity to come to Thailand in April, I definitely suggest you join in on the festivities!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.