Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Tree Art

Clare headed out with friends tonight, the boys were at my mum and dad's for a sleepover with their cousins..so what should I do..stay in and veg in front of the telly??

No, I decided to head down to the botanics to see an event in the Edinburgh Science festival - Botanics Late: Indigenous - described as "an exclusive evening event in the John Hope Gateway celebrating the connection between culture and nature - both internationally and here in Scotland".

Live music, exhibitions and hands on stuff, were all on offer.

My friend Tansy Lee Moir was giving folk a chance to do some "sketching of trees" - I had a go at the beginning of the evening using a charcoal pencil - but the outcome was not good - frustrated with myself, I decided to go round and enjoy the rest of the evening but promised Tansy that "I would be back" for another go which I did - this time using pen...and this was the result.

The same part of a tree but at different angles.

Now I would never claim to be any good at drawing..but I am pleased with this attempt....and thanks to Tansy ( and Sarah) for all of their encouragement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.