DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Bank holiday weather

I know I blipped a photo of the tulips in my parents garden fairly recently , but couldn't resist shooting it again, this time against the dramatic looking sky.

The weather has been lovely all week, so I was fairly hopeful for the 4 day Easter bank holiday weekend. Typically, the sky has been very heavy looking all day, but the rain didn't start until around 7 30pm.

I took this shot by placing the tulips in their pots on top of the wheelie bin, to make sure the sky was behind. I then switched to manual mode and took some test shots, closing down the aperture until I achieved the sky I wanted. I then used the flash gun off camera and with the orange colour correction gel on it, to give the warm tone.

Processing wise, started with slight adjustments of exposure, highlights, shadows, contrast and clarity. Then into Photoshop, where I duplicated the layer and desaturated, then used a layer mask to bring through the colour of the flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.