Fabulous

Finally I have seen Joe Brown play live and I have to say it was quite different from what I was expecting. He is a great guitarist and superb on the uke. I was amazed at the range of songs they played. He sang a U2 song whilst playing the violin. All the other band members had "a turn" and each were good in their own very distinctive way. During the first half I was really relaxed as some of the music was really easy and calming, till I realised I had left my mobile phone on and couldn't switch it off without it making tons of noise as it play tunes to you when you start pressing the buttons to mute it or switch it off. That'll teach me for hardly ever carrying it with me/never usually the thing switched on! When I do, I forget. Panic!!! Switched it off in the interval. . . phew.

One highlight of the concert for me was watching my Dad bobbing his head around happily to Motorhead's 'Ace of Spades' played on two ukes. I also loved the final song which was unsurprisingly, "I'll see you in my dreams", it was perfect, if you haven't seen it look up the Jools Holland show version on YouTube, quite lovely. They played a version of George Harrison's "Any Road" which I adored. My parents seemed to really enjoy the evening, plus we had a lovely Italian meal and I took them for drinks to a nearby hotel bar to finish off the night. All in all a great life experience. Happy Birthday Dad :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.