fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Good morning, Moon!

I woke up early, and the sky was already turning to a deep shade of blue. And there was the moon, beginning to set, nearly full and bright and clear. I pondered whether to go outdoors to take a photo, but it was -6 Celcius, and I was in my pjs and slippers. When I let the dog out, a V of geese flew overhead. I dug out a pair of socks and a sweater, and grabbed my camera.

The dog was sitting at the back of he yard, staring intently through the fence. He came wagging up to me, then ran back and gave a little bark, and I saw a solitary deer, not 10 yards away, in the back field. And then I saw the rest of a small herd, grazing in the pre-dawn light.

And then it was dawn, and the moon glowed and the sky turned pink and blue, and the birds - white-throated sparrow and flicker and (my favourite) a hermit thrush - burst into song together.

It was a very good start to the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.