The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Not the Greek Orthodox Church

This is St Barnabas' church, Tuffley, near Gloucester. Built 1939-40, consecrated 1940/ The original (1907) stone church and wooden buildings are on the other side of the road, and still in use by the community.

This was snapped on my return journey from Crete, which involved 2 buses to the airport, a flight, a 5-hour wait at Gatwick, 2 more coaches with a lengthy wait in between, a bus ride, and finally a taxi home! Only took me 20 hours. Next time I will stay at the airport hotel if there is any doubt about transport. The trains between London/the South East and Stroud were not running today, for some reason.

In any case, I am home now, with many many happy memories of a five-star holiday in the sunshine. Steve made a delicious salad, and I ordered Stuffed Vine Leaves to go with it (from Waitrose, not Stella's kitchen) and then I went back to bed, and read some scary stuff on the iPad about Deep Vein Thrombosis. One of my legs is swollen and aching, so will have to be checked out if it doesn't improve. I thought DVT was only for seriously overweight people on long-haul flights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.