Silent day

Good Friday is one of the most important days in the Catholic calendar. Here in Bavaria and I think all Germany, it is one of the "silent holidays" with all non-religious forms of public entertainment banned, not only fairs & markets but discos, theatre & opera. Switching on the washing machine in your home probably carries the risk of being reported.

This year not a problem as lots of prayers have been answered. It started raining late morning. It has now (16:00) snowing heavily. The photo shows one of the chickens trying to keep dry & warm - the streak in the middle is the start of the preceding sleet. It actually snowed in Munich on Wednesday! On Wednesday night I thought we were going to get cloud cover and we had a hard frost, finishing off the tray of Busy Lillies in the greenhouse and making the Bleeding Hearts in the garden hang their heads very low on Thursday. This afternoon I have lit the sitting room fire and while Angie is busy doing lots of clearing up after us, Flash, Luna & I are all three lounging on the sofa.

I wanted to check up on the winter weather forecast made in August by a 71-year-old who makes it based on the flowering of mullein and which I mentioned in a September Blip. He got it right again, even forecasting snow at Easter! For German language understanders here the TV footage.

Then got sidetracked by a wonderful video of a wedding in Ireland. Here the link. I guess most have already seen it (29m hits). Despite it being banned today, I enjoyed it, especially being a Leonard Cohen fan and his somewhat depressive repertoire fits today's weather.

Then thought I ought to tackle Blip backlog. The very first comment I looked at was on Wednesdays Blip. It was from Anni (BikerBear) mentioning she had been in Ottobeuren in February and had tried to let me know. Having "switched off" I didn't know! The Blip she took that day was of the wooden door of Ottobeuren Basilica. So Anni here is my attempt to make up. I added the cobwebs to make it look old (Basilica is celebrating 1250 anniversary this year). Not sure about Anni, her motto "only a dead Bliper is a good one" worries me. I think I should work on getting a Blip with TochterPeach who lives close and her most used word is "wee" - sounds much less dangerous.

Wishing all Blipers worldwide and extra especially many of those in US-NV & NY, Eire, Britannia, Scottish Republic, Denmark, France, Germany and the Bavarian Republic, a very good break. Special wishes to HK and the Far East - I hope your part of the world can come to some peaceful moments in these tragic days.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.