IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Kindergarten Eggs, Silkeborg

Up in the dark, first light dawning as we parked at Stansted. A short uneventful flight at the back of a Ryanair Boeing 747, packed in like battery hens, touching down at the small provincial airport of Billund in Jutland (Denmark) in bright sunshine.
We had a very Scandinavian lunch with my sisters in law Karen and Birgit and niece Laura and then out for some fresh air.
Silkeborg has changed little since the late 1980s when I lived here for nine months in Hanne Lene's little three room apartment on Godthåbsvej. For a couple of months I used to go to free language classes for foreigners; mostly young American and European women who had married Danish husbands, and me. I was more motivated than most of them and learning fast so I left after a couple of months when I got some casual forestry work.
Silkeborg is in the middle of Jutland's lake district, a peppering of rivers and lakes all around it. On a bright spring day, the forest walks here are a delight. This afternoon we just had time for a stroll around the town, which is quiet and all closed down for Good Friday. No eight days a week commerce here.
The children in the local kindergarten have made coloured papier maché eggs and hung them in the trees. So that is today's blip.

I will have only a little time to catch up on other folks blips so just a few words today. Happy Easter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.