Mount Bohuntin

It’s a shame such a nice day for photography should be spoiled by work. It was a site day which did not go fully to plan and I was thankfully able to rescue a situation which could have compromised the accuracy of some of our data. A sheep (I suspect) nudged our base station tripod and moved it slightly. I was able to pinpoint the stage in the exercise when it got disturbed and adjust the affected measurements accordingly.
I still felt the need of some fresh air when I got home. He had already been very well served with family walks earlier in the day so Caley couldn’t believe his luck when I told him we were going up Bohuntin Hill.
“Bohuntin Hill”; it sounds too insignificant some how. What about Ben Bohuntin or Mount Bohuntin? That would escalate its status to something that would prepare you mentally for the shock the legs were about to encounter. The “hill” suffix belittles this fine little mountain which must command some of the best Lochaber views. With a tripod and camera in the rucksack I cannot crack the 30 minute barrier for this ascent. Attempting to do so has the legs going wobbly and you can hear your own pulse in your head. It’s funny, once you get to the top and start savouring the surrounding horizon you forget the pain. I shall refer to this blip before setting off next time.
I took loads of shots and the battery went flat. Smugly I installed a fully charged spare then the memory card topped out and I had to frantically delete earlier images to manufacture some space.
The golden hour light was lovely.

Have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.