Wensleydale

This warrants a bit of biggification! Trust me. I don't say that often these days!!

I usually end up working over Easter but decided - pretty much out of necessity - to take a full day off today. The weather was a big factor in that decision. There has been barely a blemish to be seen in the clear blue sky that we've enjoyed from morning to night. After much faffing around I got the summer bike into service and headed out into the Dales. Although the sun was incredibly intense, the temperature remained, while cycling at least, distinctly chilly. I found myself stopping often and lingering so as to enjoy the warmth of the sun, which could only be appreciated while stationary. I was out for a total of 9 hours but only covered 80 miles in the process. That's a lot of lingering!

If it had been anything other than such a beautiful day I doubt whether I would have got out at all. I was so tired first thing this morning. As I set off the legs felt like they'd already ridden 80 miles. By the time I got home they felt like they'd ridden 160 miles!! It may sound mad but I know what's good for me. It was worth all the effort. The light today can only be described as numinous. The landscape was infused with a depth of colour that is rarely witnessed, the trees veritably glowing in the so bright light. I know from previous attempts that it's near nigh impossible to capture this kind of beauty with the camera. A photograph invariably fails to do justice to what is a thoroughly panoramic and three-dimensional experience.

That said, there were quite a few shots I do really like. It would be easy to procrastinate over making a choice but there is a certain lovely someone here who has nagged me (very gently) to post more in colour, and also to blip some of the stone barns of the Dales. This one is for you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.