Eleven Good Men and True

The cricket season proper opened today. This is Ben Rhydding Second Team, whom Roam captained to a very solid victory today. He led from the front with a fine spell of very tight bowling, finishing with figures of 2-13 off 11.3 overs. He handled the field well and made some good bowling changes. I was extremely proud of him this afternoon. The captaincy is a huge responsibility for a young lad but he's loving it. Winning today has meant the world to him. He's just popped home before going out into town to continue the celebrations and he's said that he can't wipe the smile from his face. He's so happy. Indeed, I don't think I've ever seen him so happy. The team performance means so much more than the individual performance.

The first team lost at local rivals Ilkley but Forrest scored 31 opening the batting so he can take something positive from the game. For my part, I'm feeling pretty cream-crackered at the moment having been out for most of what has been quite a cold but occasionally sunny day. I met up with my good friend Matt this morning for a two hour run on the moor. Following yesterday's exertions I don't think I've ever run up the hill so slowly, but fortunately the legs loosened up and I was able to take Matt on a grand tour. We don't see nearly enough of each other. I've then been out and about, mostly at the cricket, cycling the mile and a bit which separated the two matches. Thank goodness it wasn't further.

Sorry to be absent again but I'm posting this late and have to collapse into bed. I can barely keep my eyes open.

For posterity, reading left to right, we have Oliver Musgrove, Peter Hewitt, Jonny Wood, Jim O'Hearne, Paul Carter, Ian Grossett, Roam Hamilton, Dickie Bolton, James Gregg, Sam Tattersall and Nick Winterbottom.

Well played men!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.