The Unicyclist

It's been a working Sunday for me. I'm finding it hard to create any clear headspace at the moment with so much going on at work, therefore I might just as well be making active progress rather than just stewing over it - not that there was too much progress today. Still, a little is better than none at all.

I often fear that my Sundays in the office are going to prove hard in blip terms but, as usual, something, or in this case someone, turned up, in the shape of Darrell riding his unicycle. I've always fancied acquiring this skill so I asked how long it took him to become reasonably proficient. I was hoping to hear that it was a weekend, expecting a week, or perhaps two, but got the answer of three months! That might not happen then! I guess it's a lot harder than it looks.

This was taken on the railway bridge next to where I work, right above where the car accident occurred on Friday. I asked after the driver and it was confirmed that he's fine. He did break a few ribs, but that was the worst of his injuries. A very lucky guy indeed. Just to confirm that anything can happen around here, a few minutes later I spotted an otter, right outside the front door of our office. It didn't hang around long but it was a very cool sight. It's good to know that they are about on the canal.

Poor Forrest is still beating himself up over not going on to get his hundred yesterday, and steering the club to victory. He got out because he was being unselfish, putting the team and the need to score quickly before his own desire to get his century. Ironically, he would have served the team better by being selfish. He reiterated to me again what a bitch of a sport cricket can be. He played his best ever knock for the firsts and finished the weekend as gutted as he's ever been over a dismissal and still kicking at the wall as we were talking just now. He's hurting poor lad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.