New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

The curious seagull

Pecking at the outside of the glass on the 15th floor! And every now and then it was as if he bopped to the music he could hear from inside.

He was the added attraction to my Marylebone Muses literary walk today. We finish in the St George's Hotel, just by All Souls' Church at the top of Regent Street. From the outside it's an unpromising glass '60s block but there are fabulous views from the bar on the 15th floor. (Link is to photos I took up there last year.)

I wasn't quite sure how he fitted into the walk. I had talked about Virginia Woolf and thought about The Waves but I couldn't remember whether seagulls feature in that. Then someone suggested that I should bring in a new book altogether - Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.