Barbon Beck

About eight years ago I took the whole family on holiday to Turkey. I had a client out there at the time and we spent quite a bit of time with one of the guys I worked with, who was called Mark (and who remains a close friend to this day).

One of our trips was to the gorge at Saklikent. You can walk up the gorge although the water coming out of the interior is freezing and takes your breath away as you wade through it. I remember that we promised each of the older children an ice cream if they could crouch with the icy water up to their neck for a whole minute. (They all did it, of course.)

Today we went up to Barbon Beck for a picnic. (An AMAZING picnic, prepared by the Minx.) It was lovely and warm - almost hot - when the sun was on us but quite chilly when the occasional cloud passed overhead. The water in the beck, however, was unremittingly cold. There's a small ford across the water and I offered the kids an ice cream if they'd walk across. But then I remembered Saklikent and thought maybe that wasn't quite demanding enough a challenge.

However, a little way downstream from where we were sat is a pool, about three feet deep, which was just right for a proper challenge. So I told Dan, Abi and Mia that I'd give them a fiver each if they sat in the pool - up to their necks - for sixty seconds. You have to bear in mind that the water was *very* cold and it wasn't like the kids just leapt in. They dipped their feet in and attempted some negotiation but, you know, a deal's a deal. Eventually, they accepted the terms and, to their credit, all managed it.

But you know what? You can't challenge people to to do something you wouldn't do yourself. So, once all the kids were out and wrapped in towels, I had a go myself. And it was BLOODY cold, although Mia and Dan's casual swimming about while I was immersed slightly lessens the impression of just how cold it was. Which was VERY!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.