Small, but not small enough!

You can see that this little girl is small by comparing her to the full-sized doe standing behind her, but she is considerably bigger than Rascaletta, who I was looking for this afternoon. Bob was out of town on a business appointment and didn't get home in time to take her the usual afternoon ration of apples and corn kernels. So I threw on my coat, cut up some apples, and headed for the park, but I couldn't find Rascaletta.

I walked around shaking the bag of food so that it rattled loudly, and that worked, sort of. It attracted the attention of a dozen deer who all headed my way hoping for a handout. It was getting dark by the time I ran into a couple of walkers who told me they had just seen her. So the story has a happy ending. I got out of the woods before complete darkness descended, and Rascaletta got her supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.