My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Easter Bunny......

..........seen at the garden centre. I quite liked him and I haven't seen a wicker one before.

Anni came over yesterday and "supervised" my first trip out in MY CAR since December!! It went ok so I now have my freedom back - I can't tell you how good it feels!!! However, I shan't go mad and won't try to break any speed records for a while.

BOUI for today:-

1) The first Easter Bunny legend was documented in the 1500s. By 1680, the first story about a rabbit laying eggs and hiding them in a garden was published. These legends were taken to the United States in the 1700s, when German immigrants settled in Pennsylvania Dutch country.

2) The hare was a popular motif in medieval church art. In ancient times it was widely believed that the hare was a hermaphrodite The idea that a hare could reproduce without loss of virginity led to an association with the Virgin Mary, with hares sometimes occurring in illuminated manuscripts and Northern European paintings of the Virgin and Christ Child.

3) Rabbits have been associated with springtime since ancient times. It is believed that the Anglo-Saxon Goddess of Spring, Eostre had a hare as her companion. The hare symbolises fertility and rebirth. Later Christians changed the symbol of the hare to the Easter bunny.

The weather started very gloomily with dark clouds but they have thinned out now and the sun is almost shining, The wind is very chilly and the temperature is 48 Deg F.

Have a lovely Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.