slavic

As preparation for the OCOTY competition we've decided to learn our pieces by heart so we don't need music when performing. This is a completely alien concept for me - I either play without music and therefore entirely from memory when playing guitar and singing in the band, or from music. For some reason memorizing written music is much harder than I expected - probably because when I play from memory it's my interpretation of what a particular song is and I can take whatever liberties I feel like.

Add into the mix the Slavic and it gets that much harder - I'm used to being able to understand enough French, German or Latin to be able to memorize words without much problem but this!

Богородице дѣво, радѹйсѧ,
Благодатнаѧ Марїе,
Господь съ тобою:
благословена Ты въ женахъ,
и благословенъ плодъ чрева Твоегѡ;
якѡ Спаса родила еси дѹшъ нашихъ

Bogoroditse Djevo, raduisya,
Blagodatnaya Marie,
Gospod s' toboyu:
Blagoslovyena tyh v' zhenakh,
Y blagoslovyen plod chreva Tvoyego,
yako Spasa rodila yesi dush nashikh

It's a beautiful piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.