daily pear

I couldn't let the passing of Page 3 go without a reminder. And a very poor pun/homophone. One of the final institutions of the 70's is gone (but as Groucho says: ... who wants to live in an institution?). I won't miss it.

I doubt this has anything to do with people power; it seems more likely that in an age where any kind of image is available from t'interweb and celebrities are happy to pose with very little on, Page 3 just isn't relevant any more (let along saucy! oh, matron) and even worse it costs money. 

That sounds cynical but if you're in charge of a real paper newspaper with dwindling circulation and falling revenue and you have to decide between a) paying a topless model and a photographer, or b) getting a stock photo of a celebrity in their underwear I'm pretty sure I know what the result will be.

Speaking of pears: +1/3 asked yesterday if you eat pears in the same way as an apple.

me: uh... what?!
+1/3: well, I didn't know if you could, or if you should use a spoon
me: uh... 
+1/3: isn't it more polite to eat it with a spoon?
me: uh... I've heard of eating bananas with a knife and fork. Does that help?

Music for today: a bit of Ty Segall (worth a listen), Belle and Sebastian (the new album; at first I thought it wasn't too bad. Then I realised they'd just stolen Roxy Music's back catalogue. Then it made me want to hit my phone) and some The Jesus And Mary Chain.

Order restored.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.