Chook

By Chook

Superstitions

For a bunch of university educated, scientifically minded people, hospital staff are incredibly superstitious.

Dare mention the word quiet (aka 'The Q Word') on a shift, and it'll be your fault when the next patient comes through the door in a crashing heap. Not the fault of the bacteria, the car crash or what ever else. Your fault.

It certainly wasn't quiet today. Mid-afternoon, we were close to needing to put umbilical lines (basically a massive long drip that goes in the vessels in the umbilical cord and sits up near the heart to deliver big volumes of medicines or fluids) in a newborn. ML told me she was off to clean out the Umbi Tray as, if she did that, I was then bound to not need to use it.

No such luck...

Lines successfully in, I commented that our newly-devised method of taping the line in would be good to use for the next baby needing lines. 'Don't say that!' the entire room screamed in unison. Lucky for me, no further lines needed tonight. Sure I would have faced the wrath of four exhausted nurses...

Exhausted myself. Only day off for the next eight days tomorrow, and it's already jam-packed full. At least I don't have to be out of bed before nine.

Today's photo is the same deal as last night. One bridge closer to home, thirty minutes later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.