Tower of Strength

The King's name is a tower of strength Richard III Act V Scene III

If I were a tower of strength, I’d do anything
I’d keep you safe, you’d be my king
I would guard you, I would love you
I would never let you down
And you’d never have a frown
I would fight all your foes
I would keep you so close
So a tower of strength
Will be something
I’ll strive to be

As Igor said I’ve spent the day singing Frankie Vaughan’s “Tower of Strength”, a Christmas number one in 1961 (OMG that’s 53 years ago!!). This poem can be sung along to that tune. I can’t read it without the tune popping into my head so I’ve no idea what it sounds like if you just read it………………. as for Asterix I’ve no idea what was going on in my head there but it was a very wet day so I wasn’t going out to look for an actual tower!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.