MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Johnny Mac and the City of Bridges

It was a good weekend. I celebrated Passover at Rodef Shalom and Easter at the First Unitarian. Being spiritually revived, I have vowed to reduce my TV watching time. I've sat too long inside this winter, holed up with Netflix, or Amazon, or videos.pbs.org (still might watch that :) ) I would say to myself, "Just a bit with dinner" and three hours later I would think, "Wow! What a waste of my time." Imagine how many books I could have got through or how many buttons I could have sewed back on my clothes by now. I suppose I got some knitting in, but it doesn't really justify how much of my time I spend watching the creative work of others. Time to devote myself to my own- no, not movies, but something...

This is Johnny Mac. I caught him up on Mt. Washington while he was trumpeting about. He had also brought along a harmonica, a guitar, and a violin. And, of course, his voice. We chatted a bit- would seem he lost his job at 48 and decided to go the musical route. Your donations (and playing at regional events) seem to be keeping Johnny afloat, and he loves being his own man and playing his heart out. He sent me off into the sunset with 'My Heart Will Go On" from Titanic. I'm not a Celine Dion fan, but Johnny was cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.