Dewy Greens and Fresh Spring Shoots

Under Old Sarum Hill Fort.

My plan was to go get the train and walk to Bentley Wood, today, where I have planned a revisit after over two and a half years. But that would have been quite a walk and away from shops and amenities decided to leave that for another day, as I am feeling somewhat odd, with a badly sore ache in my shoulder and a muzzy head. Must have slept badly or in the wrong position.

But an early morning walk, again, up the Avon Valley and here it was the slightly misty light that lit up these watermeadows and willows that I particularly liked. My Blipmeet over the weekend, Jingly Jan – a most moving Easter Eucharist Service in Salisbury Cathedral was enjoyed by all three of us yesterday – had my enthusiasm for Old Sarum spill over them too. They enjoyed and took photos from up there on Saturday, whilst their young springer spaniel, Sadie, loved it even more... might have been all the rabbit holes, mind you, for her!

I did have to bring down the sky quite a bit and the composition is a bit messy. I do love that single tree on the left ‘golden third’ though and the outline of the church tower peeps through on the right. But the big beeches that crown the hillfort, here still looking quite bare, that hold this one in for me. The short telephoto helps bunch up the elements as well. Not bad in LARGE

By keeping it in colour I feel that this speaks quietly of Spring rather than shouting it, that my intended bluebells might have done. But I’ve also recorded a a favourite historical landmark of mine in a way that I haven’t seen too much of at all and so it is my Blip for today. Its peacefulness also sits quite well with yesterday’s fire and religion big wideangle Blip.

Lens is Sigma EX 70-200mm f2.8

Going to have a quiet day and hopefully shake off what afflicts me at the moment.

Hope you all enjoy your Bank Holiday Easter Monday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.