City Boy

By kwasi

The Jon of the City

Today was a morning spent in the garden and an afternoon in town, buying a few small things and wandering with the camera.

When I was 18 - a very long time ago - I went to university in Glasgow from a small Fife mining town. The day I arrived, I went out into Sauchiehall Street in the dark of an October evening and when I saw the lights, I knew I had arrived. I knew that the city was my natural habitat and I have had the joy of living in Edinburgh for many years. I love its vibrancy, its colour and its cosmopolitanism. Today I saw people on holiday, in the sunshine of the afternoon. The streets were alive with people of every age and description and the languages I heard were amazing. Gardens are alive with colour. I loved the orange in this shot - not one of my favourite colours but it fitted the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.