Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Garden Treats

Late December is the very best time to stroll in my garden. The berries are ripening and the peas are ready to pick. All of these things are best eaten straight from the plant. I love to browse my way around the garden, tasting this and that. I like to have some red and black currants in the freezer for winter, but all the rest I eat in the garden. I used to make a lot of jam and syrups for drinks, but they have far too much sugar for me now.

In this collage- wild cherries, black currants, red currants, raspberries, peas, alpine strawberry and strawberry. I also have white currants, but they are not quite ready.

The little alpine strawberries have such an intense flavour that often one is enough. Because of their colour the birds don't notice them.

When the cherry seedling appeared in a place I had tossed pits I was hoping for something special, but it turned out to be from the wild cherries on the hills that a bird had brought. They are juicy, but not very sweet.

Must pop out again to check on them all.

They might look good in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.